9100A Bricked Flashing Firmware

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Yoics Support Forums Forum Index -> Misc Yoics Enabled Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tobytara



Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:58 am    Post subject: 9100A Bricked Flashing Firmware Reply with quote

Hi,

I am new to the 9100A and not particularly knowledgeable on electronics.

I tried the Yoics firmware with some success but since motion detection was not supported in a stable manner (unit kept freezing) in any of the firmware I tried I was looking to return it for a refund.

However whilst trying to reflash V2.39A firmware the unit hung. Now it won't do anything and I'm unable to access it. I take it the firmware is corrupt. Yellow & Green lights are constant on the unit. I have tried resetting it without luck.

With this in mind I notice from other posts that there is a way to reflash the firmware by accessing the serial connection. Unfortunately I would probably need an idiots guide as to what I need and how I would do this. I am based in the UK.

Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobytara



Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone tell me if one of these would do the job:

http://www.tronisoft.com/cat_rs232ioboard.php

Thanks,

Stuart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycal



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes the RS232 to TTL level converters will work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
tobytara



Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've obtained the RS232 to TTL converter and wired it up to the serial port and to the PC serial port using instructions on the net. Can't at the moment get any joy with HyperTerminal. Says it's connected but can't get to the 9100A boot screen. I think I must be missing something somewhere! Probably something obvious but I'm not experienced at this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycal



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure that your are at 115K and no flow control.

make sure you have your rx and tx hooked correctly and
not backwards.

-M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
tobytara



Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help.

I am using the 115K and no flow control. I'll double check the rx/tx wires tomorrow when i'm back at work but I am sure they are correct.

Am I missing any serial drivers for this device? Should it just boot up and show in the HyperTerminal window if I turn it off/on? I assumed none were required.

Should I need any initial commands to wake it up?

I might try a linux set up if I can't get Hyperterminal to function.

Sorry for all the questions but I am new to this. We bought the 9100A as security for our work place cctv and I really want to get it working before my wife throttles me!

Thanks again, Stuart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycal



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no you don't need any special drivers. Hyperterm should be fine.

hit return a few times maybe, but when powered up you should
see the data on the screen.

you might have rx and tx reversed as you don't hook up tx to tx and rx to rx.

-M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
tobytara



Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's Fixed. You're a Star mycal. Your help is much appreciated.

Yes I got the wires round the wrong way! Changed it to TX-RX and it fired up great.

Replaced the corrupted/missing files as per your instructions in this thread:

http://support.yoics.com/viewtopic.php?t=95

My 9100A was the same as doubletop's so had to also use:

fx 6 romfs.img 0x7f0a0000 0x7f0a0014 -a

Many thanks to you (and doubletop) - couldn't have done it without you.

I learnt somethng new & now have 4 Pictures again!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycal



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great! glad to hear.

-M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
netcat



Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:58 pm    Post subject: Bricked 9100 A PLUS Reply with quote

I bricked mine with the first attempted firmware update

wont pick up an IP from DHCP

have the serial atatchment set up

hyperterm iterfaces and spits out a bunch of info includding hit ESC for console or what not.. followed by a kernel panic and... NOTHING

no interaction is apparently possible from hypertrm.


any ideas ????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycal



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you get a kernal panic, then you should be in good shape, because the boot loader is way before that.

If you cannot break out with escape, likely your tx wire on your serial port is not hooked up correctly (or backwards)

Here is the diagram
http://www.mycal.net/projects/winbond/Winbond-Camera_pinouts.pdf

better stuff is at the yahoo group.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
netcat



Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for some reason works perfect on my office machine but...

what is the correct command to upload the ROM file and.. do I do it with FTP or xmodem (xmodem would seem easier)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Yoics Support Forums Forum Index -> Misc Yoics Enabled Devices All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum